Furyk And Els Receive Special Exemptions To 2018 U.S. Open At Shinnecock Hills

Furyk and Els are the first players to receive special exemptions into the U.S. Open since Retief Goosen in 2016. Hale Irwin remains the only player to win the U.S. Open playing on a special exemption, capturing the win in a 19-hole playoff over Mike Donald in 1990.